After loading plugin template, systemmenu and user not shown

Hello, I'm pretty new to plugin development. I'd like to receive my chamber temperature via MQTT from a esp8266 and show the temperature within the navbar.
I've read the online docs, did the example, reviewed the MQTT an navbar-temp plugins and wrote a plugin close to navbar-temp.

In the result, after loading the Plugin, the temperature is shown in the navbar, but the system menu is gone, the loggedin user is not shown and login does not work.
Dropping my template jinja2 brings the menu and the user back to the ui.

The logs are fine and in DEBUG mode the log shows the successful userlogin after startup. What I didn't get till yet?

Plugin and Picture ->
OctoPrint-Chambertemp.zip (33.1 KB)

It's a good idea to check the JavaScript console in your browser to make sure that there aren't any errors ("error binding ... view...").

indeed:
Could not bind view model NavigationViewModel to target #navbar : Error: You cannot apply bindings multiple times to the same element.

hmmm. there was a hit within the example I think, lets see ..

Thank you :):+1:

this is indeed stuff I didn't really get right now.
why do I need the "navbar" line in the Tutorial and now don't?
The "settings" may keep in place.

def get_template_configs(self):
        return [
#          dict(type="navbar", custom_bindings=False),
            dict(type="settings", custom_bindings=False)
        ]

Running it like this does your navbar code still work?

At this point, you might want to review your JavaScript file that's named something like YOURID.js and look at the code where it's trying to create the viewmodel. The name at the top/bottom should match. None of the JavaScript should have errors in it. (Comment out sections in the middle to help troubleshoot.)

Also, check out your YOURID_navbar.jinja2 and make sure that it's not trying to reference something weird.