Bed Level Visualizer install failures

I just installed the RasPi Zero W in my Prusa MK3, flashed newest OctoPi/Print. No customization outside standard configuration per Prusa. I've tried 3 times including a fresh re-flash and I can't get this plugin to install. It runs a while like expected but then fails and looks like OctoPrint crashes because the UI is unresponsive.

Is some system timeout killing the process?? I'm not a linux expert so not sure there...

Flashed this:
2019-09-26-octopi-buster-lite-0.17.0.img

plugin_pluginmanager_console.log (12.2 KB) octoprint.log (33.2 KB)

We've spoken many times here about the Prusa + Zero combination. I've personally posted on the Prusa forum about the configuration requirements that they failed to mention to their own users. Foosel has indicated here that they should have consulted her before suggesting a one-core Raspi with half the RAM.

Do yourself a favor and setup a Raspberry 3B for the job. It doesn't look as snazzy as the Pi Zero slammed onto the Einsy board but it simply works.

2 Likes

And it also won't get nuked its file system the first time you accidentally power off the printer (and thus also the Pi) before properly shutting down the system.

2 Likes

I was kinda thinking that it was specification related since I haven't seen any open items on GitHub. I also read on the actual Octoprint that the Zero wasn't recommended so I'm not shocked at all by the feedback here.

I'm a Windows software guy and really this is my first dive into RasPi stuff so as long as this Zero does its job as a OS I'm happy.... just gotta be aware of Plugin support requirements.

Thanks for the feedback!

That specific plugin requires a Python dependency called numpy which can take a long time to install due to some stuff having to be compiled, which can be bog slow - even more so on a 0 than on a beefier version. Try to simply wait really long, maybe it'll work out after two or so hours.