Browser UI Overhall

TL:DR The frontend of OctoPrint doesn't look the best and from what I can read Themeify is more of a plaster than a fix. Are their projects to rewrite? Should I not even bother?

So I'm a big nooby noob too printing and I am so glad that OctoPrint is a thing because it makes life so much easier. However the browser UI is clearly made by backend devs and not frontend.

I have seen in the depth of these forums that its has been attempted before but the code ended up looking a bit like our fav pasta. I also am aware of Themeifiy and will download and take a look at it when my printer eventually fails its print. From the looks though it looks like the same solution that reddit used to have with its subreddits (super modded CSS), but I think that it could be done better.

Are their any active repos rewriting this frontend in something like Angular/Blazor that I can contribute too or is this something that should be kept at the end of a 10ft pole?

1 Like

A complete UI re-write is in the works, although development hasn't started yet. Gina's mentioned it on several OctoPrint-On-Air videos recently. It is possible to make a plugin utilising the UiPlugin mixing that can replace the entire UI. Its difficult to do, since it has to be either backwards compatible, or offer a migration period for plugins. See also the migration from Python 2 to Python 3 recently...

If I remember right, the idea will be to create a UI 2.0 plugin, that will coexist alongside the current UI, until it is polished & plugins are compatible.

Oh nice! Where can I find the OctoPrint-On-Air videos?

Youtube playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9j2DtsIPVkOFIMRrnnbXsnXtQmwj1IId

They go out monthly, and are announced on the OctoPrint Blog too.

2 Likes