Configuring DetailedProgress Plugin

Hi,

can somebody explain me how the Plugin can be configured?

I already read the hint here

but i don't know which file has to be edited (and before or after installation)?!

Greetings from Germany,
Chris.

Hi Chris!

Now as you say - can't find it too...
It should be included to the config.yaml, but it seems, there are problems too.

1 Like

On the Raspberry Pi, it should be here:

~/.octoprint/config.yaml

Since that period is in front of .octoprint, it's naturally a hidden directory under the pi user's home directory.

Hi,

the hint to the config.yaml was the missing information.

After stopping the service I was able to edit it with PuTTY and now it works fine :smiley:

Thank you (both)!

1 Like

How, I have been trying for 3 weeks now? I am a NOOB to coding.....

1. Remote into the Raspberry Pi: ssh pi@octopi.local using "raspberry" as the default password for the pi user.
  2. Run the following command: nano ~/.octoprint/config.yaml

Scroll down until you find the section which has plugins:. Assuming that you've already installed detailedprogress, look for that subsection then edit it to look like the following:

plugins:
  detailedprogress:
    # Number of seconds (minimum) to rotate the messages
    time_to_change: 10
    eta_strftime: "%H:%M:%S Day %d"
    etl_format: "{hours:02d}:{minutes:02d}:{seconds:02d}"
    # Messages to display. Placeholders:
    # - completion : The % completed
    # - printTimeLeft : A string in the format "HH:MM:SS" with how long the print still has left
    # - ETA : The date and time formatted in "%H:%M:%S Day %d" that the print is estimated to be completed
    # - filepos: The current position in the file currently being printed
      - "ETL: {printTimeLeft}"
      - "ETA: {ETA}"

Yaml files are picky about the format. Use two spaces for each indent. For the section that you'll be adding, most of that is four spaces or six space toward the end. This is important for OctoPrint to be happy.