Genuino 101 for Octoprint

Hello, I am a noob regarding boot-loaders and all this things to update firmware. I wanted to know if I could use a Genuino 101 instead of a raspberry pi because i have the Genuino laying around. I have an Ender 3 and I plan on getting a few other mods like thermal runaway protection. I just want octoprint to time-lapse my prints and all the other features are bonuses. I also want to know if I need to get a specific camera or if a off-brand go pro works for the recording. Thanks for the help and if it isn't for here please tell me where I can find answers.

If the genuino is just a fancy arduino, then no, it can't run OctoPrint. OctoPrint isn't "firmware" like marlin or repetier, it doesn't run on the printer. OctoPrint is a host program, like Repetier Host or Printrun, that runs on a computer (regular pc, mac, raspberry pi, anything that can run linux/osx/windows).

As for cameras, I don't know how up to date the list is but: https://github.com/foosel/OctoPrint/wiki/Webcams-known-to-work

Ok thanks, from what i understand the Genuino 101 is a better version of the Arduino UNO. One more question, is it possible to just run octoprint on windows and directly connect my printer to my pc? If so the camera question still applies. If it isnt possible ill invest in a raspberry Pi. Thanks for the help :slight_smile:
EDIT: I reread your awnser, and my question is how do you put octoprint on the computer? are there any online tutorials? ill check the website you sent for the camera

The Genuino 101 is the Arduino 101, which was an Intel attempt at competing in the Arduino/AVR space. It's a 32mhz processor with a little bit of RAM and has an AVR processor too (IIRC). But it's effectively an Arduino board, not a computer that happens to have Arduino pins or anything (like the Intel Galileo was).