Get Values from Printer by I2C

Hello,

i want to run an esp32 for dedicated functions. The ESP32 controlls some Relais, and buzzers, and mybe more.

I need help to implement a scripte for sending printer status values trought i2c channel to my ESP32. It is not neccessary to controll the printer over i2c. I need the communication just in one direction, values from my printer to my Esp.

I'm new in Octopi and i cant find a good solution, maybe there is a plugin i do not know/found.

Hi there. The Raspberry Pi has nice i2c support with i2c-tools. For instance, you can run i2cdetect -y 1 to see the devices that it sees.

You'll have to write your own Octoprint plugin.

Yes, that sounds good. Thank you.

I know there are differnet examples and tutorials for octopi plugin programming. Can you give me a litte help out of your Experience to have a fast start?

For Example:

• I want to send a notification about Print start and print stop via I2C.
  • I want to send the Z Value evey new Layer via I2C.

Can you give me some abtract instructions how to get it? I just need some impulses.

Here's a good tutorial:
http://docs.octoprint.org/en/master/plugins/gettingstarted.html

1 Like

Thank you. :slight_smile:

I found a an Event called: PositionUpdate.
http://docs.octoprint.org/en/master/events/index.html#sec-events-available-events

Is it possible to use this event only for Z and send it out over i2c?

You should probably look at the ZChange event instead but the example on that events page shows how to configure calling a python script for an event. There are plenty of examples on using the i2c bus from python that can be found with a Google search. Should just be a matter of cut and pasting something that will work for you.

2 Likes

Reeeeaaaallly Big Thank you.

I found the Event you told me:

ZChange
The printer’s Z-Height has changed (new layer) through a G0 or G1 that was sent to the printer through OctoPrint (not triggered when printing from SD!)