How to retrieve live temperature data in a plugin?

I'm a uni student trying to make an electrochemical 3D printer, which includes trying to modify OctoPrint for electrochemical 3D printing. This kind of printer will not be changing or measuring temperature, but rather depositing atoms on a plate by providing a current flow to ions.

The approach that seems the simplest is feeding OctoPrint the current reading and pretending that it's temperature. Therefore I want to be able to plot 'temperature'. I'm trying to make a plotly graph similar to the PlotlyTempGraph plugin. Thanks to that plugin and ChatGPT I have custom plot with data from an old CSV, but I need to know how to be refreshing that graph and inputting 'temperature' data. Unlike PlotlyTempGraph, I only need to be plotting a single variable, and don't need any settings parameters.

I've read through PlotlyTempGraph's viewmodel but still don't understand the basics of how it retrieves and then plots temperature data. So I would love to know how exactly I can get live temperature data, and any best practices for doing so. I also don't quite understand how PlotlyTempGraph is refreshing the graph when temp data is received.

Thank you so much! I've been stuck on this for a while.

ps: I want the electrochemical data to be reported at a higher speed than temp data is traditionally reported, so if this is a problem I would love to know!

You could just use that plugin and create your own single file plugin to provide it the data to plot as an additional temperature data point. How are you getting your current reading? I might be able to help with creating one. There are several examples in the rc branch of the plugin, linked below as a starting point.

Hi jneilliii. Thank you so much for your reply and sorry this is late. I really appreciate all your work on the plugin.