I have installed the recover from a power failure addon

Hi all

I have been printing 4 day print and it has died. power failure is allowing me to start were I left of. Well not quiet is restarts 10 mm higher is there a setting that will allow the print to restart the same distance from the bed as it left off?

Thanks
Shanta

I haven't used the plugin yet - but I guess it's this setting:

Critical: Determine if your printer has Z_HOMING_HEIGHT set. This setting raises the Z-axis on any homing event to avoid collisions. You can check your printer firmware configuration or in a resting state issue the command G28 X0 Y0 in the command terminal and observe if the Z-axis is raised, and by how much. This value is used for Z_HOMING_HEIGHT.

1 Like

I have never used octo print at this level before. The stalled print is siting on the bed. So I don't want to get in the way of resuming the print.
Here is what I have done I have changed values in Z_HOMING_HEIGHT for 10 to 0, -10, -20, -50 No change in the high above the print.

If I send G28 X0 Y0in the command window will that move the print head to 0 0 and additional 10 above? will it negatively effect the resume coordinates?
Thanks for the input.

It really depends in your printers firmware.

Negative values should lover the printhead after leveling. But thats just an educated guess - I never used the plugin before

This is not the way the plugin works. You need to install the plugin and set Z_HOMING_HEIGHT before you start printing. If there is a powerfailure or a printer disconnect, once the printer is reconnected it will generate a recovery_gcodefilename.gcode. If you don't have that recovery file already, there is nothing that can be done with your current print (other than measuring manually and editing gcode by hand).

I don't recall instructions on that when installing. I should have tested on a test print first.
I have never edited the gcode file.