Interest in open source powder 3D printer?

Hi.

I'm not a complete noob, as I was once employed as a manager for a large 3D printer company; however, I'm not an engineer... My quest is to find those interested in developing a powder based open source 3D printer.

I understand (at least I think I do) that Octoprint is a GCode generating system and that a powder printer would (likely) require developing one or more new plugins. An OctoPi controlled powder printer might be possible? There are all sorts of hurdles of course - print head, binder, et cetera - but I'd be very interested in getting such a project off the ground.

I'm aware of the open source powders and binders, of course. And the research that has been done previously in open source powder printers. Octoprint seems like such a vibrant and supportive community, I thought I'd start here.

Any thoughts (besides "impossible" and "you're insane")?

Oh, by the end of the summer, I should have at least one, and maybe two, zcorp z310's on the East Coast of the US that could be used for research and development.

OctoPrint is a 3d printer host that can be controlled through the network. It sends (premade) gcode to the printer. It can be extended using plugins to include a pared-down slicer.

If the printer "speaks" gcode, then probably, yes. Though OctoPrint is mostly geared towards fdm printers, and some aspects of powder printers might require special functionality that OctoPrint does not offer by default (but could be added with a plugin).

Thanks for the reply, FoV.

I think that GCode could be suitable for inkjet powder printers. For sure DIY SLS (laser) printers have been done. Binder printers use a wide, inkjet print head, with multiple jets. I did find this thread that makes it sound like GCode could be adapted... https://ytec3d.com/forums/topic/g-code-for-powder-bed-printing/ Maybe that work could be turned into an OctoPrint Module?