Membrane Keypad GPIO Plugin Issues

Hey, does anyone have any experience using RPi.GPIO in an octoprint plugin? I'm developing a plug-in to interface octoprint with a 3x4 membrane keypad using pad4pi library so you can connect it directly to the raspberry pi's GPIO header. For some reason with my plug-in enabled octoprint will fail to start the first time and go into safe mode. It works normally the second time and everything functions without error. Tried turning up logging verbosity and cannot seem to figure out what the problem is.

I'm an electrician by trade and have messed around with programming and python in the past, it's possible I made a silly mistake. Wondering if I should put my code up on github anyway so maybe someone more experienced can point out where I went wrong?

If your end goal for this plugin is to contribute it to the repository, then putting your code up on github will be required at some point, so now is as good as any to get started. If you don't want to publish your plugin, then you can create a zip file and post it here.

As usual, we will also need the log files (octoprint.log, serial.log). For the logs, delete existing logs to get a fresh start and then go through the steps above for first time and second time. You can zip them up and post them here.

Thanks for your input, I do plan on eventually adding it to the repository so here is my code:

and log after trying to restart, goes into safe mode first time and second time it starts normally:

Reason for safe mode: problem during last startup

So we need to see the octoprint.log file for the startup before this one.

I updated the log on the repository after trying to restart again and it went into safe mode, though there doesn't seem to be any additional information as to why it failed to start :thinking: