Mr.beam questions and advice

Hello all and thanks for taking the time to read this. I'm getting an omtech 80watt co2 laser cutter and I'm interested in Mr beam but am not finding much about it. If anyone uses it let me know how well it works compared to octoprint. I have 2 years experience with octoprint so I'm confident I'll be able to use it but I have ideas I'd like to research before investing

The MR Beam software is actually OctoPrint under the covers with a plugin to modify the UI for the purpose of use with their laser engravers.

1 Like

Thats great to hear, next question is if I'm running octoprint on my rasp.pi and I have my 3d printer hooked up, would I be able to operate the cutter and printer off of one machine or would it be best to add a pi(3b+ could do the 4 if the bugs are worked out) to the cutter?

I recommend one RPi per printer. While there is probably enough (average) compute power in an RPi 3 or 4, the USB ports share hardware and there are times that the USB port is at 100% utilization feeding one device. IMO, the added cost in hardware is insignificant compared to the software complexity and maintenance of a non-standard configuration.

While MR Beam software is OctoPrint under the covers, It is not the "current version" of OctoPrint. Getting two different versions of OctoPrint running at the same time on a single RPi would be a challenge even the best of us would probably not undertake.

Thank you so much for this information. After the expense of the cutter a new pi isn't to out if the question. @b-morgan I'm getting the impression you have a good amount of experience with Mr beam software. May I ask how the functionality of Mr beam compares to octoprint? I unfortunately can not find video references to Mr beam on youtube. I can tell you im planning to use lightburn with a Webcam, I am looking to be able to monitor my progress like I do with octoprint and upload files to the cutter.