Octopi Buster and Noobs-Raspberry OS In one card?

Genuine noob here, with Ender 3 Pro, Raspberry Pi4, 5 inch touchscreen, and 64gb SD card pre-loaded with Noobs Raspberry OS. I want to use Octoprint Buster but instructions including ominous terms like Python, Etcher, Putty, etc create a real obstacle for me. I read that Gary Sheffer has OctoPi image that already contains Raspberry Os and all that is needed, which If I understand OK is just what I need. My problem is with installing Octopi and what I'd like is a PRE-COMPILED file to plug-n-play. Is that clear or am I out of touch with reality? Thanks for ANY help!

My best advice is to just get two cards, if you want to sometimes run NOOBS and sometimes run OctoPi. SD cards are not expensive. You don't want your experimentation with different OSes via NOOBS to wipe your OctoPrint installation.

OctoPrint and OctoPi are two different things.

OctoPrint is a print host server that is normally controlled via a webbrowser. OctoPrint can be installed on just about any system that runs Python (Python 2 or Python 3, not CircuitPython), including systems like Raspberry Pi, but also if you wanted to a spare Windows PC. You will have to install it "manually". There is no single PRE-COMPILED (why am I screaming?) binary, but there are simple installation instructions; see OctoPrint.org - Download & Setup OctoPrint (read the whole page, not just the download link)

OctoPi is a Raspbian distribution that comes with OctoPrint and mjpegstreamer "preinstalled" and ready to use. You can flash OctoPi directly to an SD card and run it (only) on a Raspberry Pi.

3 Likes