Polaroid Playsmart

Is this printer compatible with Octoprint?
It seems this type is not to be found in this forum..

many thx

bob

It runs Marlin 1.1.8 so probably yes - as long as they didn't mess something up.

I think I heard that Polaroid were violating the GPL license by not releasing the source, so we don't really know. Best you can do is try it out, if you find it does work then report back and the next person to ask this question won't have to :slightly_smiling_face:

Yup heard the same..
Also they're using an android powered display on the printer :roll_eyes:

Ps: I just sent them a request for the sources. Let's see what happens :crossed_fingers:

I have OctoPrint working on my Polaroid Playsmart right now. I'm new to both Octoprint and 3d printing in general, but I would be happy to help if I can. I have an additional webcam hooked up to the raspberry pi and I'm looking to see if I can view the print with the printer's camera that already there as well.

HI,

I have been using this Playsmart printer for about 6 months now (my first 3D) and have had a lot of problems, mostly with filament. Even with Polaroid filament.
And the software, “prep” is badly written.
Therefor I’d like to use octoprint, preferably on Raspberry Pi.
Btw, the video livestream, has never worked in my case (recordings do)

Kind Regards,

bob

Yeah the smartPrep software sucks I can not get it to generate g code files. I'm using cura slicer with the Polaroid profiles. https://youtu.be/XRw8DXwUd1g
Also check out Polaroid PlaySmart 3D Printer User Group Öffentliche Gruppe | Facebook
As far as live streaming from the printer make sure the printer and what ever the app is downloaded on (my phone) has the most updated firmware. I've been able to use the camera on the printer.
Not sure about the filament maybe a description, pictures, or video might help.