Python Requires changes itself

In experimenting with writing plugins, the python version requirements for mine changes itself when in use the gpiozero library.

I am just learning to write these plugins (I do have other programming background) and am starting very basic. I followed the official tutorial, and now want a physical button to respond on the dashboard.
Up to this point, I have specified my plugin requires python >=3,<4
When I add a line that calls a Button() from the gpiozero library, it changes itself to require python >=2.7, <3
This then will not run on my installation (fresh install, Octoprint 1.7.0, Python 3.7.3, OctoPi 0.18.0)
I've played with several different configurations, trying to debug this, and find that it is specifically when I call Button() that it changes.
I have delcared my Python requirements in init.py AND the additional_setup_parameters of setup.py. I found that is how the PhysicalButton plugin by LuxuSam did it, I was trying to copy that part of his.
If I comment out my Button() call, the python requirements return to where I declared them.
If it is helpful, https://github.com/aburtonProto/OctoPrint-Helloworld is my repository for this. Please note, I am just experimenting with things, so names and everything are not all cleaned up.
What is overriding my decision? How can I fix this?

Thanks for any pointers.

maybe specifying a python 3 only version? GitHub - gpiozero/gpiozero: A simple interface to GPIO devices with Raspberry Pi

Edit: Although the version 2 doesn't seem to exist...

Whenever you have an issue with your plugin the first place to look is the octoprint.log. It will tell you all the errors about your configuration.

OctoPrint-Helloworld/octoprint_helloworld at 58f6ca590dbddf454ddb07e01917c549fac1f45c · aburtonProto/OctoPrint-Helloworld · GitHubinit.py#L12