Runnin Octopi from a ssd?

Hi
want to go to an next level octopi Server and boot form a copy of octpi on the ssd
I know that if you install buster with Interface there is a program that easily copy the whole OS to the SSD.
as I am not a expert in Linux I ask for help to do so
istthere anybody that has a knowledge of how to copy sdcard to SSD on commandline?
is there anybody that has done that already and can me help to copy and run my octoprint on the Pi4 and ssd boot

Thanks in adavance
P.S. if the sd card staying the master for having a safty copy and be the master of change, is there a possibility to update the ssd (rcync?)in either or both ways?

You could use https://github.com/billw2/rpi-clone to make a clone of the SD to the SSD but you may need to search elsewhere (like the RPi forums) to get help on getting the RPi to boot from it.

The question I would want answered is does this provide any better performance since the SSD is being accessed through a USB3 port (I'm pretty sure that through a USB2 port, the SSD would be slower than the SD).

I have done testing with HDPARM on both the pi3 using SSD's via USB2.0 and pi4's using the USB3.0 interface. Even via USB2.0 the SSD is at least twice as fast as the SD cards And I have tested just about every brand SD card, and the UHC1 speed.

that's what I get with my pi 4 and a sd card

root@octopi:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=~/test.tmp bs=1M count=1024
1024+0 Datensätze ein
1024+0 Datensätze aus
1073741824 bytes (1,1 GB, 1,0 GiB) copied, 28,9716 s, 37,1 MB/s

root@octopi:~# dd if=~/test.tmp of=/dev/null bs=1M count=1024
1024+0 Datensätze ein
1024+0 Datensätze aus
1073741824 bytes (1,1 GB, 1,0 GiB) copied, 24,4026 s, 44,0 MB/s

Pi 3+ with a Samsung 860 SSD via USB 2.0

pi@raspberrypi:/mnt $ sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=test2.tmp bs=1M count=1024
1024+0 records in
1024+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB, 1.0 GiB) copied, 31.4948 s, 34.1 MB/s

pi@raspberrypi:/mnt $ dd if=test2.tmp of=/dev/null bs=1M count=1024