SerialException Troubleshooting

This is more of a story I suppose, hence why I'm posting it in General. But want to make my intentions clear in writing this: I created an account for the express purpose of writing this post because I hope the information I provide helps someone who finds themselves in the same situation I was in.

I rather recently got into 3D printing. I'm a programmer and sysadmin by trade, and getting computers to do things brings me great joy. 3D printing seems sort of like a perfect fit to someone like me, and indeed, though it can be difficult at times, I liken the difficulty to the same as what I encounter while programming. It's hard, but highly engaging.

Anyway, I've been using Octoprint, having great success printing in PLA, just completed an enclosure to help me print ABS, and that's been going pretty good now that I've finally solved my bed adhesion issues. And then, I was hit with what I now know is quite the demon:

Unexpected error while reading serial port, please consult octoprint.log for details: SerialException: 'device reports readiness to read but returned no data'

Of course, my background renders me no stranger to troubleshooting these systems, so off I went to Google where I found a slew of different explanations. I attacked the problem systematically, trying to correct for each potential issue to see if any difference was made:

• Check for undervoltage - I first checked the power supply I had connected to my RPi4. I didn't really suspect this could be the issue, as the power supply I have for my Pi is known historically to be good, but it's still worth checking. I did so with the dmesg command, where I found no reports of undervoltage.
  • Check for errant processes - If a process on the Pi is running out of control, this could in theory cause issues. I used the top command to check for any such processes, but didn't find anything out of the ordinary.