Setting up IDE without command line commands

I am new to Github, Linux and Python and I have very little experience with command line commands. It was a very long time since I changed from DOS to Windows so I would like to use a GUI for development.

I have tried to follow the instructions in your turtorial but have only found a short instruction on how to setup PyCharm. The rest is based on comman line commands.

I managed to create a plugin base catalog in the c:\Devel catalog using cookiecutter but when I should push it to Github I got lost. I manually created a repository on Github, having to insert all the data again which I alredy typed in when creating the plugin with cookiecutter. What is the correct way to do it using PyCharm?

Some more detailed instructions on how to devellop plugins using PyCharm instead of command line would be much appreciated.

Hi,

take a look into my knowledge base-wiki:

or https://github.com/OllisGit/OctoPrint-KnowledgeBase/wiki/CreateNewPlugin

But to be honest, it just includes a shorter version of the orig. Docs.

I am not sure what you are missing. The easiest setup is via the CLI.

Needed steps

1. The first thing is create a new plugin via cookiecutter (you already did)
  2. Init you local git repo
  3. Open PyCharm and open your new plugin
  4. Setup PyCharm (venv, run configuration)
  5. Push your changes via PyCharm to github

After your Plugin is "ready for production" read the offical stuff: Registering a new plugin
or https://github.com/OllisGit/OctoPrint-KnowledgeBase/wiki/DistributePlugin

Maybe you can be more precise where you need more informations.

Thanxs for the reply.

Sorry if I wasn't clear about what I wated. I'm only used to develop applications on WIndows using Visual Studio and other Windows based IDEs so CLI is not my cup of tea. CLI do not offer any sytax help while typing so you need to know exacly what to type. It may be easy for you but unfortunately not for me.