Standard Release might have a problem in it

Hello,

I am new to 3d printing, my printer was acting up on SD card, so wanted to check if I could run it via USB. Decided to go the Octoprint route. Ran into a slight issue.

I downloaded the standard distro, extracted it, and tried to flash it using etcher. It said flash failed. After this happened on four separate SD cards, I tried to open the zip using PeaZip and Peazip locked up. Same happened with 7-zip. Downloaded again, same result. So far I thought I had done something wrong. Used a different flash program to verify the flashed card, it gave the same verify failed message on the same sector for all the cards.

Then I tried the nightlies and download the version from March 2nd, 2021. Followed the same steps, and Etcher flashed that successfully the first time around, onto one of the same cards.

So I think the currently available distro might have something wrong with it. If you can give it a look, it might save others some hassle.

Thank you for your time.

The download page has an MD5 checksum so the first thing to do is compare the MD5 checksum of your download with that posted on the page. You can get an MD5 checksum program from https://sourceforge.net/projects/winmd5sum/.

Assuming the checksum is correct try Etcher again. Etcher is, IMO, a very flaky program. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. If it fails a couple of times in a row, use 7-zip to extract the .img file and win32diskimager to write the SD card.

I also find that the official Raspberry Pi Imager works a lot better than etcher does. Problem with changing the install guide to recommend RPi imager was that it gives a bunch of preset images and you have to dig to find the option to use custom.

It's code is open source (I know this is off topic), but if anyone Qt familiar wants to make an OctoPrint branded one...