The "safe" gcodes for afterPrintPaused and beforePrintResumed hooks?

We wrote an OctoPrint plugin and here is what we want it to do:

1. after print is paused, retract filament, home the print head, and turn off extruder heater.
  2. before print is resumed, re-heat extruder heater until the previous temperature, move print head the previous position, and feed filament the same retraction distance.

Based on OctoPrint documents we feel afterPrintPaused and beforePrintResumed hooks are the right place (let me know if we are wrong). But since the user can also set custom gcodes for these 2 hooks, we are not sure how we can craft the gcodes that they won't interfere the ones that user sets.

I'm an experienced programmer but a gcode noob. So any help is much appreciated!

PS. A bit more background about our plugin: it is a machine learning-based algorithm that automatically detects print failures based on webcam feed. When a possible failure is detected, it'll automatically pause the print and alert user. We have implemented everything in python but it caused a lot of problems and hence we believe that gcodes returned by the hooks should be the right way to do it.

I wouldn't use those hooks at all for this purpose since your plugin will be the one to pause the print. What I would do is put the print job on hold and manage the resume process yourself. That way you can just send whatever gcode you like. It probably won't be easy to make 100% compatible pause/resume script, so consider allowing the user to customize that.

As a note, job_on_hold also stops any OctoPrint custom scripts from executing. See this issue for details.

Be careful with that lock, however. If you don't release it, OctoPrint will stop working since it won't be able to send any gcodes.