Umm help with an idea (servo control)

I’m wondering if someone could possibly make a plug-in that would allow you to control a servo motor through gcode(maybe with control buttons) as I would like to be able to rotate a camera so I can do a much more impressive time lapse of my prints

Please note that I am rather new to scripting

Of course it's possible, the question is if someone wants to do it :wink:

This is no plugin but it's gcode based and got physical button support. Maybe it meets your expectations :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hmm, not exactly what I was aiming for but it's a step in the right direction nonetheless

Idk if that program is compatible with octoprint as I only have one raspberry pi to play with

And for button I wrote this thinking about the octoprint control buttons, like the ones to move the printer

Is the servo connected to the board? For example, a servo deployed bed probe? If so, standard gcode commands can control it, and you could use custom control options in config.yaml to send the commands. This is basically what the BLTouch plugin I wrote does as that probe reacts to servo signals and is connected to servo pins on the control board.

1 Like

The servo would be connected to the pi and rotate a camera ( hopefully in sync with octolaspse) for more of a cool effect that's a bit more niche

Although I feel that the plugin could possibly have a gcode command to run it, so it could also be a filament wiper, or a floppy noodle thing on the screen driving the Spaghetti Detective insane, or maybe a arm that lets you know when the print is done

Idk these are just a few random ideas I had writing this

So does anyone have an idea on how to do this?

Or at the least, help me figure out how to do this

If it were me, I'd rummage around into my toy box for a PiFace Digital 2 and see if that makes things easier. (It might not.)

Read me and me

And then I'd marry that script to something like OCTO800 as created in the Gcode System Commands plugin.