What happens on printer when Octoprint stops?

Hi, I'm new to 3D printing,still waiting for my Prusa i3 Mk3S to arrive, but in mean time I am setting up a Rapsberry Pi 4 with SSD, usb camera and Octoprint (OctoPi distro).

What will happen with printing when OctoPrint will stop somehow, due to software problem, OS problem, or power failure on the Rapsberry?

Is there some documentation how Octoprint works internally, for this question: how communicates with the printer?

Thanks for your replies

So with the Mk3S there are two ways you can connect, either direct to the printer's serial/uart port on the printer (well documented on Prusa's site) or via USB from the pi to the printer's control board. In either case, if there is any form of software failure or disconnection between the printer and OctoPrint then gcode commands just stop being sent to the printer. This is not necessarily the same if you are printing a file from the SD card and using OctoPrint to control/monitor. In that situation the print would just continue but OctoPrint will not be able to control/monitor.

Thank you,
So when using octoprint, it and the computer it runs on, becomes an integral part of your 3D print system.
And the advertised feature of the Prusa printer "can continue after power failure" only applies when printing from a SD in the Prusa controller.

That's correct.

Why does Octoprint have to spoon feed the code to the printer line-by-line. What does Octoprint do for the print process that would not happen if the same gcode was run directly off the SD card without Octoprint?

Is it not possible to send the whole file to the printer's SD card then use Octoprint to control the printer whilst the code runs off the SD card. Since the MK3 controller software CAN recover from a power failure would this remove the power failure issue? If Octoprint crashes or hiccups for whatever reason won't the printer soldier on without Octoprint.