What namespace gets from the .js files to .jinja2?

I'm experimenting with writing these plugins, still quite new to it.
How do I get variables from the JavaScript files into the Jinja templates?
Specifically, to a data-bind.
If there are better ways to do this, please let me know. I'm quite new to the front end of things here.

I can get the python parts of my code working fine, buttons responding and connecting how I want. When it reads a button, I can get it to put the button's state into a variable but it seems that is only loaded when the page is hard-refreshed. I did this with the double curley brackets {{plugin_pluginName_variable}}.
I'm learning about data-bind methods now as it seems this is the intended way to get things to instantly update. From the tutorial, I can get variables set in the settings tab to update with settings.settings.plugins.pluginName.variable.
As I understand it, I should be able to use (my plugin is still called HelloWorld) helloworld.js in the static folder to write a javascript method that updates onDataUpdaterPluginMessage and writes to the ko.observable variable I make. This function is running properly, as it spits out console messages as expected.
If this is the way to go, what namespace do I call in the jinja to reference this variable?

Important parts of my code:
helloworld.js:

$(function() {
    function HelloworldViewModel(parameters) {
        var self = this;
		console.log("this much is working");

self.moreWords = ko.observable("something");

// TODO: Implement your plugin's view model here.
		self.onDataUpdaterPluginMessage = function(plugin, data) {
			if (plugin != "helloworld") {
				return;
			}
			console.log("a message from helloworld");
			if (data == "PRESS!!") {
				self.moreWords = "press";
				console.log("thing happened");
			}

^and all the closing curleys are there too. This code is running fine.

helloworld_navbar.jinja2: