BigRep has hidden almost all settings, how to get them back?

Hi there,

I've been using OctoPrint for 7 years now with several Ultimaker 2+ and love it, but I hate what BigRep has done to it. Almost all settings are hidden and I can't even start a print or change the nozzle temperature via web interface.

The support of BigRep is useless as it seems this startup company is in real trouble, it takes ages to get a useless feedback.

Is there a way to get at least the following settings back?

• Set temperature for both tools
  • Amend or create new temperature profiles for bed and tools
  • Start a print job

I can't even identify which version of OctoPrint is running on this printer. All I know is that the panel PC is a regular x86 PC with Linux installed and a custom GUI will auto run once the printer is turned on.

I can access the file system and edit the config files, but I don't know which one need to be adjusted.

it sounds like they may have hacked the UI up completely and the only way to get it back would be to fully reinstall OctoPrint from scratch. Without knowing what that other company has done though it's hard to say. Can you get to the config.yaml and logs folder in /home/<username>/.octoprint?

Based on what's on their GitHub it's a real old version of OctoPrint 1.3.0 maybe. GitHub - BigRep/OctoPrint: OctoPrint is the snappy web interface for your 3D printer!

I can access the config.yaml and the log files.

Also I updated the software of the printer to the current version, shouldn't be that old I guess.

I guess check to see if you can find the OctoPrint venv folder (in OctoPi it's /home/<username>/oprint, stop the service (sudo service octoprint stop), rename that folder and re-create a new one using the manual install steps for linux. Can't guarantee that wouldn't break something though since we really have no idea what this company may have done to the core OctoPrint code.