BLTouch not stopping extruder

Ender 3 with BTT SKR Mini E3 v1.2, BTT TFT35 E3 v3.0, BLTouch, Octoprint 0.16

This is a printer my brother gave me configured as is without any notes. I have checked that the BLTouch is connected to the main board on the z-stop header.

I am new to 3d printers and am just trying to configure it so the nozzle is set to the right height prior to attempting to print anything. Right now when I attempt a home the nozzle touches the bed and I can see the springs slightly compress (obviously a bad thing).

I switched the display from BTT to Marlin 2.0 and with motion/home z and a with a block under the probe tip, the extruder stops correctly. It appears this is an issue with z-offset but I am having trouble finding the correct place to adjust. I am nervous to try anything as I don't want to damage either the nozzle/hot end/extruder etc or the bed.

Since the printer is set up with OctoPrint on a RPi 3B I thought maybe he only configured these settings under that, but I'm not seeing anything in any guides that confirms OctoPi can override the mainboard settings. I can see that there is a bed visualization in OctoPi so I know the BLTouch is configured somehow but I'm at a loss to find where.

I've downloaded the OctoPi 0.18 image and was considering starting over with configuration but thought I'd hold off until I at least asked the community.

Hello @bkenobi !

Have you updated the firmware to use the BLtouch?

You can not just swap the genuine Z-axis endstop with a BLtouch. That device works different.

Yes, I downloaded the version with the z stop (firmware-bltouch-for-z-homing.bin), renamed to firmware.bin, and put it on a microSD before starting up the printer. It gave an error on the display:

Failed to enable Bed Leveling  echo:Bed Leveling OFF  echo:Fade Height OFF  ok

From what I read in a thread on BTT community, that was normal on first boot because the bed mapping had not been stored.