Can i run other stuff parallel to octoprint?

excuse my noobiness i only have the rasberry for a day and it was a rather spontaneous buy so i have not gathered much infos yet.

i wonder if i can run apps parallel to octoprint?

i would like to use it as printserver for my epson printer and wifi extender too.
but i have no clue if that is possible with octopi as OS.

as i said i have no experience with rasberry pi, octopi or linux yet.

A printserver should work.
But wifi on a Pi. Nooo :wink:
The Pi has a bad design. All the hardware are connected to a single usb port.
Buying a repeater is less pain.

1 Like

Blockquote But wifi on a Pi. Nooo :wink:
The Pi has a bad design. All the hardware are connected to a single usb port.

ah. ok thanks.

i thought i might try it because there are so many WiFi extender projects to find on the Internet.

so how i understand it after a bit of reading:

octo pi (the IMG file) is basically a normal linux OS but without a GUI.
octoprint is an app that is pre configured to run on octo pi.
but i can also install and run other softare parallel to octoprint.

Yes octoprint is "only" a application which came bundled with the raspberry pi distribution octopi which is based on raspbian.

My setup is currently a baytrail board (j1900) with 4 GB ram 120GB slc SSD 450Mbit wifi card.
1x C270 +1x c310 logitech webcam, a 120w pico psu with 60W power supply.
Running Fedora 30 and 32 octoprint instances.
3 Printers are connected: 2 selfbuild Prusa i3 Printers and a MakiBox.
The other 29 instances are just for developing a software i currently working on.
Ah and 32 mjpeg-streamer instances (30are sending a changing test picture)
Consumes 8-10W relating on load.
It also runs a unify controller within a docker container.
You can't do this on a rasbberry pi :joy:

i will start with adding a GUI to octo pi…:slight_smile:

i have not touched commandlines and terminal tools much since DOS days.