Can't centre print on bed

Hi,

I am a complete noob in 3D printing so I’m putting that out there straight away.

I’m using a Creality CR-6 SE with Octoprint

I’m running OctoPrint 1.4.2 and OctoPi 0.17.0 on a Raspberry PI.

My problem is that when I start a print through Octoprint it always starts right at the front of the bed on the left-hand side not in the centre. However, if I start a print using the touch screen and load the gcode from the SD card then its centred correctly.

So, its obviously something I’ve done wrong with the setup of Octoprint.

I followed this youtube video to set up cura and import the ini config as directed and it all went well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0I_BIR36Grk&ab_channel=TeachingTech

Importing the STL file in through Octoprint works and the print comes out fine but I’m stuck on how to get the print to start in the middle of the bed. And if I view the loaded print through the Gcode viewer its centred just not on the bed.

Oh, one last point that could be important is that when the extruder moves all the way over to the left theres a grinding noise like its trying to go even farther then its limits allow, not good.

If the way I’m doing this is outdated and theres a better way to get STL to gcode and print them centred on the bed through Octoprint then I’m all ears.

Thanks in advance for any help.

octoprint.log (42.0 KB)
plugin_PrintTimeGenius_engine.log (13.3 KB)
serial.log (148 Bytes)

The most used "source code" for 3D prints is an .stl file. This file is input to a slicer that produces .gcode output. This .gcode file is processed by the firmware in the printer (most often Marlin or a derivative).

While it is possible to configure a slicer that runs on the RPi (and can therefore be used by OctoPrint when it encounters an .stl file), this is not the recommended solution. The cura engine that is available is very old and making changes to the profile (which is probably where this problem resides) is difficult.