Can't get OctoPrint to boot

Hi All,
I've just gotten the parts needed to set up OctoPrint on my Creality CR-10S, but I can't seem to make it work. I grabbed the latest version of OctoPi, wrote it to my SD card using Etcher, configured my network settings, and plugged everything in (Printer + Pi Cam v2). It didn't show up on the network at all after about 10 minutes, so I reflashed the card and tried again. I ended up plugging it in to my TV to see what was showing up, and all that was appearing on the screen was a colour test. I also noticed that the red LED on the Pi was flashing (4 long flashes then 4 short flashes, repeating). I'm pretty new to Raspberry Pis, so I'm not really sure where to go from here.

As far as my setup goes, I grabbed the most recent OctoPi build from octoprint.org, and I'm using the stock firmware for my CR-10S. I have the latest version of the Pi (3 B+) if that makes a difference.

As I said, I'm a bit of a newb on this, so any assistance would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Jup, it does. The current stable OctoPi 0.14 isn't yet compatible with the 3+. See this blog post:

Ah, well I guess that explains it then :frowning:

I don't suppose there's any workaround for this yet? While I'm new to the Pi, I'm pretty good (albeit rusty) with Linux, so I wouldn't mind doing a bit of tinkering if it'll make things work.

Regardless, thanks for the info :slight_smile:

You could use one of the current nightlies (that would also help us to determine if they are working well for people). See

Ah, will do! I'll give that a try when I get home tonight and report back :wink:

Or you could install Rasbian or any other flavor of Linux that will operate on the RPI 3+
Then use the Setup on a Raspberry Pi running Raspbian method which will work even on old computer hardware, my Anet A8 is being run by an old smashed screen laptop running xubuntu, and it works GREAT!

I did have to do a bit of tweaking to get the Logitech C270 camera working though.