Changing default Pi account name

Hey everyone!

When setting up my Pi I want to change the default login on the pi itself from "Pi" to something else. The problem is that every time I do Octoprint stops working sue to it's dependency on the "Pi" user account. I plan on using my pi in a public makerspace and want to increase my security. I have followed two guides on how to do it and both have resulted in breaking Octoprint.

I am new to coding and will need a little assistance when you ask for logs etc...

Here are the two guides I tried:
First: https://www.modmypi.com/blog/how-to-change-the-default-account-username-and-password
Second: http://unixetc.co.uk/2016/01/07/how-to-rename-the-default-raspberry-pi-user/

I am using a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B v1.2 With OctoPrint version: 1.3.8 and OctoPi version: 0.15.0

how does changing the username increase the security.
A good pw or sshkey only login increases security :wink:

Not sure what a sshkey is. But having a universally known username is still a security risk. Ask any security professional. By changing the username someone with malicious intent now has to guess two bits of information to get in. Not just one.

Not that I've ever done this before...

• Assume that you've used the ModMyPi suggestions and have renamed the pi username to elvis
  • Do an ls -al ~/.octoprint to verify that all the files are owned by elvis with a group of elvis. (I assume that the ModMyPi suggestions didn't include creating or otherwise renaming the pi group which is also involved here.) Or leave the files as owned by elvis:pi then (username:group).
  • If this isn't the case, then I think I would try to recursively chown everything there to the new user you've created (assuming that they're still pi:pi). This goes for everything in the former-pi's home directory.
  • Edit ~/scripts/octoprint.default and update OCTOPRINT_USER.
  • Having done cd ~ verify the folder. If it's not /home/pi then many things need to change.