Do you leave it on or turn it off?

**What is the problem?**My Raspberry pi should I leave it on even when im not using it for a while? I get bumped offline and have to reboot it all the time, so I thought I should just disconnect it. I also wanted to know if it is bad to disconnect it all the time. Sorry im a noob...
Thanks Larry

What did you already try to solve it?

Additional information about your setup (OctoPrint version, OctoPi version, printer, firmware, octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab, ...)

I leave mine on almost all the time.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean by:

My RPi is connected via WiFi and is solid as a rock.

If I'm printing a series of parts, I leave it on so that the print volume remains warmed up. It might go like that for five days straight.

Otherwise, I turn it off at the end of a day's session.

1 Like

Maybe I should have elaborated more. I leave my Raspberry Pi on all the time. I turn the printer off if I'm not going to use it for a while (overnight or longer). I have done some 20+ hour prints so I turn myself off during those :smiley:

2 Likes

I heard it is not good to unplug the PI so I wanted to see what others were doing. I thought I would ask and see what everyone else recommends. Do you have any issues with your wifi connection dropping over a period of time??
Thanks, LTR

It's not good to unplug the Pi while it is still running. You should issue a shutdown command first, and wait for it to complete before powering down the Pi. Once the shutdown is complete, it's safe to unplug the Pi.

2 Likes

I use an Alexa skill to run OctoPrint's shutdown routine via its API. When the LCD screen goes white I then use a second Alexa skill to turn off the TP-Link Smart Plug which powers the printer (RAMPS board which itself powers the Pi). Using Alexa to toggle the TP-Link back on then makes it ready to go again.