E3D Bigbox -- warms up T0 but extrudes with T1 RESOLVED

E3D BigBox dual with Marlin 1.6
OctoPrint 1.4.0 running on OctoPi 0.17.0
Simplify3D 4.1.2

I've been using Octoprint for a couple of years with my E3D Bigbox dual with no problems, I think 1.13.something. Flash card finally gave out so I imaged a new one with the latest Octoprint pi image. Calibrating things and doing some terminal tests, all is good.

My first test print fails in a way I've never seen. Octoprint warms up T0, goes to extrude, and then extrudes with T1 instead of T0. The only T1 in the gcode is at the end: "M104 S0 T1; turn off extruder 1"

I've attached octoprint.log going back to the most recent start and the gcode. Also going to check out a repo and try some earlier releases.

octoprint.log (14.9 KB) box-10-10-10.gcode (41.0 KB)

I'm staring at these lines in your gcode while reading this:

; set T0
T0

Their example indicates T1 on the RepRap page.

"Tool numbering may start at 0 or 1, depending on the implementation. Some implementations (those that use the M563 command to define tools) allow the user to specify tool numbers, so with them you can have tools 17, 99 and 203 if you want. Negative numbers are not allowed."

If it were me, I'd manually play with some commands in the Terminal tab of OctoPrint until I knew if my firmware counts from zero or one.

I did that before attempting to print, I was able to warm up the head and test extrude a few cm. When I get back to the studio I'm going to try the gcode line-by-line and see if there's an error message from Marlin. 1.6 is from a couple of years ago -- maybe it's hitting some archaic bug that's been fixed in the past year?

Update: entered commands line by line in to terminal and looked for error messages.

G1 X157.026 Y52.602 F6000
G1 E1.0000 F1800
G1 X157.398 Y52.974 E0.0442 F750

That last line caused the head to move and the T1 extruder to turn, T0 did not extrude

Maybe it wants T1 for the first tool and T2 for the second tool.