Ender 3 Pro warning

Hello
Im very new to 3D printing and just installed Octoprint on the RP 3b+. I have an Ender 3 Pro and after I installed Octoprint I was expecting to get the firmware safety warning but I did not get that. I just bought the printer a few weeks ago. So the question is, does my Ender 3 Pro have the "Thermal runaway protection" enabled in the firmware and hence I dont get the warning ?

You can enable OctoPrint's serial.log or you can manually enter the command M115 after you connect to your printer and look for "Recv: Cap:THERMAL_PROTECTION:1" in the serial.log or the M115 output.

1 Like

Perfect b-morgan, thank you!

Since I just installed octoprint where do I manually enter the command ?

Here :slight_smile:

Thanks printedweezl, I'm not home and not familiar with the gui so I had to ask.

tenor1

1 Like

I get this in the output. Does this mean TRP is not enabled ?

Send: M115
Recv: FIRMWARE_NAME:Marlin Creality 3D SOURCE_CODE_URL:https://github.com/MarlinFirmware/Marlin PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:Ender-3 Pro EXTRUDER_COUNT:1 UUID:cede2a2f-41a2-4748-9b12-c55c62f367ff
Recv: Cap:EEPROM:1
Recv: Cap:AUTOREPORT_TEMP:1
Send: M155 S2
Recv: Cap:PROGRESS:0
Recv: Cap:PRINT_JOB:1
Recv: Cap:AUTOLEVEL:0
Recv: Cap:Z_PROBE:0
Recv: Cap:LEVELING_DATA:0
Recv: Cap:SOFTWARE_POWER:0
Recv: Cap:TOGGLE_LIGHTS:0
Recv: Cap:CASE_LIGHT_BRIGHTNESS:0
Recv: Cap:EMERGENCY_PARSER:0
Recv: ok
Recv: ok

That means it doesn't say anything about whether TRP is on or not. Which makes this a guess game.

In general OctoPrint will only display a warning for printers (or rather firmwares) that are known to have it disabled. Not getting a warnings doesn't necessarily mean it's safe. I have to rely on user tests and feedback to make affected printers identifiable, I can't buy every printer on the market and check myself :wink:

@tjadhav:
Have a loot at this video how to check thermal runaway: