Etcher returns an error but the install works

Hi, I'm brand new to both Pi and Octoprint but not to programming.

I've just installed the latest version of Octoprint onto a 32GB samsung card using etcher on windows and it seems to flash OK but returns an error. Despite this, the install does actually work when connected to a Pi3b+

I have tried using a different PC, with a different card adaptor, a different SD card and different version of windows and still get the error.
I have tried telling Etcher not to unmount
I have tried formatting the card as exFAT with SDformatter

Unfortunately I just don't know enough about what is going on and any advice would be very welcome

...AppData\Local\Programs\balena-etcher\resources\app.asar\node_modules\raven-js\dist\raven.js:58 Warning: Can't perform a React state update on an unmounted component. This is a no-op, but it indicates a memory leak in your application. To fix, cancel all subscriptions and asynchronous tasks in the componentWillUnmount method.
in FlashStep (created by MainPage)
in div (created by MainPage)
in div (created by styled.div)
in styled.div (created by ForwardRef)
in ForwardRef (created by Component)
in Component (created by ForwardRef)
in ForwardRef (created by ForwardRef)
in ForwardRef (created by Box)
in Box (created by Flex)
in Flex (created by MainPage)

Hello @bladeslapper!

What error?

It says "Flash Complete - 1 failed device" and then on mouseover it says checksum does not match. I can copy the rest of this if that helps.

On the console, there is 1 error and 1 warning.

The error is what I copied and pasted into my original post and the warning is:

...AppData\Local\Programs\balena-etcher\resources\app.asar\node_modules\react\cjs\react.development.js:315 Warning: React.createFactory() is deprecated and will be removed in a future major release. Consider using JSX or use React.createElement() directly instead.

You may try an older version of Etcher or Win32 Disk Imager

thanks.