Get IP address ethernet upon bootup

Hi everyone!

I'm a bit of a Raspberry Pi noob so I'm having a problem that I haven't been able to solve.

I'm using a Raspberry Pi 4 with OctoPi at the university where I am studying. The IT department has allowed me to connect the Raspberry to the network via an ethernet cable. To access OctoPrint I have to fill in the IP address of the ethernet connection in the browser. However, the IP address changes regularly as it's running a DHCP server. So I would need to know the IP address everytime it changes.

I found a video that shows that you can have your Raspberry Pi send you an e-mail with the IP address in it. You can see the video here: Have your RPi email you its IP address on startup - YouTube. The maker of the video has Raspbian installed on his Raspberry so he can easily write the script that sends the e-mail. With OctoPi installed, I don't know how to do the same. I found out that you can install a Desktop GUI on OctoPi so I tried that, but I didn't manage to get it to work.

What I did was:
I found that I had to install the desktop environment, lightdm and xinit. At first I only managed to install the desktop environment but that wouldn't work without the others. I figured I should update everything to make sure the latest firmware was running but that wouldn't work either. The message I got was:

'Index of /raspbian buster InRelease' changed its 'Suite' value from 'testing' to 'stable' N: This must be accepted explicitly before updates for this repository can be applied. See apt-secure(8) manpage for details.

I found someone online who said to use this command:
sudo apt-get update --allow-releaseinfo-change

This then allowed me to update using sudo apt-get update