Help a Newbie Old Man out......Pi 4 update and now cant log in

did an update on my pi 4 and had the Pi boot to a desktop and when it booted up it came up with a debian login screen and I cant log in......ARRGGGGHHH

I have tried both the password that I changed it to as well as the default : pi / raspberry

I am really new to the Raspberry Pi world and to 3D printing. Old Man new hobby kind of thing..... Im trying to learn but Im just used to a desktop environment so Someone please help educate the elderly......:joy:

Hi :slight_smile:
Where are you from? Maybe the wrong keymap is loaded and you're entering the wrong password without noticing.
For example on the german keyboard layout the z and y keys are switched compared to the us layout.
So you need to enter raspberrz in that case.

2 Likes

Additionally, if your password includes a double quote, you have a U.S.-based keyboard as combined with the default UK-based keyboard driver, then it won't type what you expect.

Try using ssh pi@octopi.local from another workstation; it will work with your workstation's keyboard (and a double quote would be a double quote in this case). If that works (using the Raspbian password, not to be confused with the OctoPrint password), then you can update your password by running passwd.

2 Likes

If you don't know anything about ssh and console based stuff this video could help you with the basics.

1 Like

Im in Virginia. I was able to log into it fine in command line, but after I did an upgrade I decided to I wanted to try using a desktop view. So I went into the Config and made it boot to desktop view and it came up asking for a login and password and underneath it says Debian….. Im using Octoprint for the OS that I flashed from the site…….