How to get my printer to home

Hi I am new to octoprint I have set up the raspberry pi 3. I have octoprint up and running but I cant get the printer to home by tapping on the home buttons when I tap on the home button the x/y and z just go back to the stop switches and stop and don't go to the home spot. but if I put G28 code in it homes spot no . is there anyone who can help ne please

What does your printer do if you send it G28 X0 Y0? I believe that's the line OctoPrint sends when you hit the main "Home X/Y" button.

hi if I put G28 code in it homes as it should if I try to home xz axis the home tab it dose not move at all if I hit the in the middle of the x and y it just hits the stops and that's it

Sorry to repeat the question, but what does your printer do if you put G28 X0 Y0 instead of just G28? I'm trying to differentiate if OctoPrint is sending a different command than you expect or if your printer is handling the expected command differently than you expect.

Also, what kind of printer do you have?

ok sorry not doe that I have just put G28 I will boot it up and give it a go and get back to you

have just put in G29 x0 y0 and it just hits the stops and stays there I all so put in G29 XO YO and G29 in upper and lower case but they just hit the stops and stay put

When you say you put in G29 x0 y0, did you mean G28 x0 y0? If so, and your printer reacted the same way as it does when you hit the home button, that means that OctoPrint is sending the expected command, but your printer is interpreting it differently than might be expected.

What kind of printer do you have?

Are you using the OEM controller and firmware or have you changed to something else?