Kraken: A new iOS client for OctoPrint

Hi all! I wanted to share what I've been working on for the last few months: Kraken, a beautiful iOS client for OctoPrint. I wasn't happy with the existing iOS clients as they're all somewhat ugly and have an awkward UI/UX. I also wanted a way to manage multiple printers easily rather than switching between multiple tabs in my browser.

The current features include:
• Start, pause, resume or cancel your print
• Monitor print progress
• Stream camera video
• Move, extrude, retract, set temperatures and control fans
• View and search Gcode files on your OctoPrint server or its SD card
• 3D Touch shortcuts
• Add multiple printers

I'm just getting started and have a lot more features planned, but wanted to share with this community and get some early feedback and thoughts on how to improve.

You can download Kraken here: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/kraken-for-octoprint/id1472939486

4 Likes

Looks great!

Downloading now. Which of these features are paid? (I noticed the IAP Kraken Pro on the App Store page).

I would love some shortcuts support!

Right now the paid features are:
• Full screen video stream
• Add multiple printers
• 3D Touch shortcuts
• Faster data refresh intervals

By shortcuts do you mean 3D Touch shortcuts on the app icon or Siri shortcuts?

I plan to add more free and paid features soon. My goal was to make the app fully functional for free users and add more “nice to have” features for anyone willing to pay a few dollars for them. Enjoy!

Shortcuts as in integration with the shortcuts app, not necessarily the previous "donate shortcut to Siri Shortcuts" type of integration even though that could be nice as well, but rather actions that could be used when building your own shortcuts in the shortcuts app

The 3D shortcuts are almost dead IMO, both because of the removal of 3D touch on newer devices as well as the UI changes for 3d shortcuts in iOS 13.