Logitech C270 switches from /dev/video0 to /dev/video1

Camera model
Logitech C270

What is the problem?
Webcam switches randomly from /dev/video0 to /dev/video1

What did you already try to solve it?
reboot Pi several times, tried to edit scripts

Logs (/var/log/webcamd.log, syslog, dmesg, ... no logs, no support)
I am new to Rasberyy, so I dont know how to collect logs

Additional information about your setup (OctoPrint version, OctoPi version, ...)
OctoPrint 1.4.0

Hello forum members,

I am very new to Raspberry and Linux, for that reason, I can not offer logs files as I dont know how to collect the ones which are needed for my problem.

I have installed Octoprint on my Raspberry 3 and connected a Logitech C270 camera to it. Everything worked perfect, but since I upgraded my Octoprint Version to 1.4.0, I can not get the camera working. It randomly switches from /dev/video0 to /dev/video1 and my webcamDaemon script always needs to be the camera on /dev/video0.

Tried to set parameters in octopi.txt like "-d /dev/video1", but also without success.

I would be very happy, if someone with more experience could help me with that problem.

Many thanks and best regards,
Tim

Try clicking on any one of the four links that say "logs" in your post.

There is help in the post editor: Just select the text area you want to format and click </> in the icon bar above the editor area Official Site

Hello foosel,

here is the octoprint logfile and syslog logfile.
I don´h have any webcamd.log file.

Actually my webcam is listed on /dev/video0, but still I can´t get any stream running.

Best regards,
Tim

syslog_octoprint-log.zip (9.3 KB)

It's located at a different place than octoprint.log and friends, /var/log/webcamd.log.

Hi foosel,

I checked that path and there is no webcamd.log.

I have installed averything using that link long time ago:
https://www.paass.net/2018-07-23-octoprint-auf-dem-raspberry-pi-3-teil-2

I am starting the webcam with following commands: