M600 event hook request

What is the problem?

I am using the event hooks to call a custom script to alert me when a print start/stops/fails etc...

I would like to get an event trigger when a M600 command is sent to the printer so I know when it needs a filament change instead of listening for the beeps.

What did you already try to solve it?

Looked in the event documentation and don't see any reference to the M600 command generating an event.

Additional information about your setup (OctoPrint version, OctoPi version, printer, firmware, octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab, ...)

Not relevant

Thanks

I'm no software developer, but as I had a simular issue and I wrote a small plug-in inspired by the GCODE Systems Command Plugin.

I put a .py file with the following code into my octoprint/plugins folder. Everytime a M600 gcode is sent to the printer a specified shell script gets fired up. The shell script sends out a pushbullet notification to my phone in my case.

Here is my code:

# coding=utf-8
from __future__ import absolute_import

import octoprint.plugin
import time
import os
import sys

class M600ActionPlugin(octoprint.plugin.StartupPlugin):

def hook_gcode_sent(self, comm_instance, phase, cmd, cmd_type, gcode, *args, **kwargs):
        script_path= *** insert path to your script here ***
        if gcode and cmd[:4] == "M600":
            self._logger.info("M600 registered")
            try:
                r = os.system(script_path)
            except:
                self._logger.error("Script could not be run")

def __plugin_load__():
    global __plugin_implementation__
    __plugin_implementation__ = M600ActionPlugin()

global __plugin_hooks__
    __plugin_hooks__ = {
        "octoprint.comm.protocol.gcode.sent": __plugin_implementation__.hook_gcode_sent
    }

__plugin_name__ = "M600 Shell Action"
__plugin_version__ = "0.1.0"
__plugin_description__ = "Plugin fires up a shell script, if a M600 gcode is sent to the printer."