Manual/Mesh Bed Leveling - more fine stepping in Z

Dear community,

I'm quite new to 3D printing and to this community, therefore a very brief introduction of myself:
I'm living in the south west of Germany, >40 years old and I'm an electronics engineer for high reliable analogue hardware.
I have some experience with my DIY CNC router and therefore some questions to the mechanical adjustment of my 3D printer, which is IMHO the basis for good prints...

I made a new FW version for my printer (Anycubic i3 Mega with Ultrabase) which enables the Mesh Bed Leveling (MBL).
With the OctoPrint terminal I was able to send and receive all the informations regarding the MBL - it works.
But the finest Z steps in the Ancubic printer and in the OctoPrint control panel are 0,1 mm. While performing MBL I feel, that these Z steps are too coarse and for best results they shall go down to 0,025 mm.

There are no chance to change this in the Anycubic printer...
Therefore my question:
Is it possibe to have more fine steps (e. g. 0,025 mm) in the OctoPrint control panel?

I'm looking forward to your answers!
Have fun!
LG kaskade911

1 Like

This is mostly a firmware and mechanics question. Depending on the printer design and the smallest value the firmware will recognize, you should be able to use GCode in the terminal to move to an arbitrary height. Anything you can do in GCode you can create a button for in OctoPrint. Most printers aren't designed to be stable for Z steps under .1 or .05, but this depends on step degrees, Z screw type, Z screw resolution, Z axis backlash, etc.

Hi supertaz,
THX for the quick reply.
With an appropriate GCode (G1 Z1.025) I can control my printer down to 0,025 mm. Even the TFT shows this value (I assume I can go down to lower values....).
But working with the terminal and type in all this values during adjustment (for 25 MBL points) you will become crazy....
Is there a tutorial how to make this button (incremental Z values of e.g. +- 0.025 mm)?