Network connection extremely slow after installing TouchUI

I have been using OctoPrint for several months with no issues, but after installing the TouchUI plugin, my network connection has slowed/almost stopped. I am connected via WiFi and can see that the router has assigned an IP address and the server is online. When I try to connect to OctoPrint via a browser, it usually times out or takes minutes to load the page. When controlling the printer via TouchUI on the touch panel that is directly connected to the Pi, it works great. Printing works fine as well.

If I ping the raspberry pi from a workstation, it usually times out. If I am able to connect (usually takes minutes to load) all messages are greatly delayed. The issue started after TouchUI was installed, but I also upgraded OctoPrint during the install, so I can't say for certain that this is the issue.

I don't have an RJ45 port anywhere near the printer, so that isn't an option long term. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Nick

Hi @ngiovas

I don't know the plugin but you can can you check two things.

1. ssh on Pi and using top try to verify if octoprint process is consuming all the cpu available, below my cpu during printing and with webcam.

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
397 pi 20 0 274616 66188 8904 S 11.4 17.6 6:42.65 octoprint
390 root 20 0 43756 3392 2956 S 0.2 0.9 0:13.38 mjpg_streamer
1074 pi 20 0 10188 2864 2504 R 0.2 0.8 0:01.07 top

1. check if network work fine with ifconfig command.

Also you can try to remove the plugin to see if something happen.

Bye.
Leo

Which Raspberry Pi model is it? If it's the 3B or 3B+ it should behave nicely. Older models might not have enough RAM.

If part of your installation for TouchUI involved running the install_desktop script then you now have the entire x windows system running as well as everything else it was doing before. Additionally, it will also have a full-screen browser running.