Network goes down after 1.4.2 upgrade

After upgrading to 1.4.2 yesterday I seem to have issues with the networking going down within 30min of starting the PI. It seems to affect both wifi and lan, there is no ping, no web-interface, no ssh. Good thing is the printer keeps printing. And restarting solves the problem. I confirmed that I'm using the IP showed on the printer (it hasn't changed).

My OctoPI is headless, so it looks I might have to find a monitor and keyboard. Not sure what to look for, linux is not my world, and setting it all up just worked on its own :slight_smile: This seems more like an OS issue than an OctoPrint issue?

I was just wondering if anyone else has this problem since upgrading. I have been using octoprint daily for 3+ months without ever having a problem, and nothing really changed besides the upgrade.

1 Like

Update: I have no idea what is going on here, but if I unplug/plugin the LAN cable the network comes back, including the wireless. Does that make sense to anyone?

After update to 1.4.2 I had same problems you said.
Plugins weren't available cause it was saying no internet connection etc.

I made a fresh instal on new SD. WiFi is not working! Only cable.
There are some serious problem with this release

There are two people so far reporting issues with a part of OctoPi that cannot even be changed by an updated of OctoPrint (wifi is managed on the OS level, not in userspace by OctoPrint). Meanwhile 14000 people have updated to 1.4.2 and have printed around 150000 hours since then.

Hi @foosel I used 1.4.1 and then 1.4.2 by updating from 1.3.x I used weeks, but after 1.4.2 (octoprint / octopi) server couldn't connect to internet. I could download 1 plugin and then even I have list of plugin (which is coming from internet) I could not add any plugin anyway this is another story.

Finally i decided to make a fresh install 1.4.2 ui and core 0.17.0 with raspi image.