Newbie advice, please

I have just got a Creality Ender 3 Pro. I have done a few prints from a microSD card, but I realise I will want OctoPrint!

I have been using various Raspberry Pis for a few years so fairly OK on getting them going.

So I am looking for some recomendations .....

1. I want to be able to use the RPi to detect a temperature from an 18B20 temperature sensor and switch on a relay. So I need to be able to access the GPIO pins and I would like to programme in Python.
    Can I do this if I use OctoPi?

2. Is there a 5V DC power supply that I can use on the Ender 3 Pro?
    If not I will just use a power buck and a "wall wart" power supply.

3. I will want to add a web cam. I will probably use a Logitech C270, but is there a "better" one?

4. I see that Octoprint has a web interface, but can I still use SSH and SFTP?

5. Which RPi should I use? My current guess is that a RPi 3B+ is probably best as it runs cooler, although I also have a RPi 4 that I could use. Which is "best"?

Any constuctive advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Bruce

Hi there,

1. Certainly, Octopi will work for that. There is a great plugin, Enclosure Plugin (4.13.1), that will allow you to configure sensor inputs and gipo without having to write any code.

2. I cant answer for wether your ender can supply power but I would recomend an independant power source. I wouldn't want to overtax the printer power supply. You may also find that once you start adding additional controls you may need more than 5v.

3. I find the c270 to be sufficient. you may want to print a new front plate with focus control (thingverse). anything else is overkill as it (octopi) doesnt stream mp4 it sends jpg images.