OctoPi first use, setup, editing, adding programs,

What is the problem?

There are no " applications " on my OctoPi install?

I am new to 3D printing, Raspberries, Octoprint and OctoPi. It seemed like a good idea to add this for local control besides the printer, adding an observation camera, ... and not having to do the SD card shuffle constantly.

Printer is up and running standalone.

Raspberry PI 3B with 5" touch screen up and running using a 16GB SD card with OctoPI.

I need to modify files on the edit the network settings and force a static ip (name.local is not working from desktops).

I need to create a new file to store the touch screen calibration.

But there is no text editor?

I have only file manager and terminal.
What happened to the rest of the OS???
How do I add programs?
I have no browser ... add program "store" or library to pick from

There also is no octoprint " app " on the octopi to control the device locally?

What did you already try to solve it?

Used internet, researched raspberry info, researched octopi info, checked FAQ, checked this forum, ...

Additional information about your setup (OctoPrint version, OctoPi version, printer, firmware, octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab, ...)

OctoPI version ... not sure.
OctoPrint version 1.3.9

Octoprint is a web app, so you can run it from a web browser. If you want to run it locally, you have to open the browser and point to it´s local IP.

The OS is there, but once raspberry is limited to performance, and the purpose of octoprint is to control the printer, you should keep it as light as possible. It´s a Linux based OS, optimized for command line, but if you know a little bit of linux, you can use apt-get to add more stuff.

If you want a text editor, you can use nano or vi from command line via SSH connection, or to edit the files in boot partition, you can simply turn off the PI, and insert the card in your laptop/pc sd card reader and edit the files there.