OctoPi network issues

tl;dr: I solved my networking problems when I replaced OctoPi with a fresh Raspbian install + OctoPrint.

First, I'm an experienced network engineer - at the company where I work, I designed and configured the networking for our data center, including a Linux cluster with hundreds of nodes. I consider myself to be an expert in Linux system administration.

Anyway, I just got started with 3D printing and installed OctoPi on a Raspberry Pi 4B. Over the last couple of weeks, we had some intermittent problems with our home network. I tried many things that helped for a while, but the problem persisted. On Monday morning, things got totally broken. Macs got randomly renamed due to network conflicts. WAN speeds deteriorated from our usual 900 Mbps down/40 Mbps up to less than 1 Mbps in each direction. Everyone at home was unable to work or study.

Then I started to troubleshoot. Pings to various devices on the LAN failed! I installed a spare router but that didn't help. I decided to disconnect everything and connect devices one-by-one until I found the failed device. To make a long story short, the root cause was the OctaPi server. If I connected it to the network, it flooded the LAN with malformed traffic so bad that it would remain broken after I disconnected the OctaPi server. The only solution was to disconnect the OctaPi server and reboot the unmanaged network switch !! I got things back to normal on the LAN, then I proceeded to a fresh install of Raspbian and installed OctaPrint from scratch. Everything is working correctly now, including the OctaPrint server.

I don't know whether the OctaPi distribution was infected, or misconfigured, or my OctaPi server got pwned. To be extra careful, when I installed the fresh RPi distribution, I connected it to a keyboard and monitor to set an initial password before I connected it to the LAN.