Octoprint and PI 3 B+ complete newbie wifi issues

What is the problem?
I just received a brand new Raspberry Pi 3 B+ and Rpi camera that I want to setup Octoprint on for my Prusa Mk3. My Pi connection to my local network is fine over ethernet but I cannot get the wifi to work.

What did you already try to solve it?
I downloaded the latest stable build and followed the instructions to get wifi working. Used Etcher (I have a Mac) to flash the image to microsd. Transferred the card to my Pi only to have it not connect to my network. I originally used a wrong text editor so I re-flashed the card and used my windows emulator to run Notepad+ to edit the network text file. I updated my ssid and password along with the country code (US) and "#" in front of the default "GB". Reinserted into Pi, booted - no connection.

Connected Pi via ethernet and instant connection to octoprint. I can see the camera live and everything seems fine. Disconnect ethernet and reboot - no wifi connection. I then tried to download the latest nightly build, did the same steps - no wifi connection but ethernet connects just fine.

This is my first foray into Raspberry Pi so I have no real idea how to remotely connect to it or query it or do any command line steps. I am wondering if there is something that I did not install correctly because there are sites that re saying that I should SSH in and change a file in a etc/ folder but I cannnot find a folder like that. I also found a few people talking about running sudo raspi-config to manually update things like wifi information and time code / country code, but I have not been able to try that yet. I think the very first install I did, I forgot to comment out the default country code while uncommenting my country code - but I have done a re-install since then with the same issue even though I have ensured I made those network changes before booting up.