OctoPrint and Tevo Tornado printer

What is the problem?

I have been working with OctoPrint and the Tevo Tornado for about 2 years now. About 6 months ago I developed what appeared to be a layer shift problem. Because I had been using hair spray to try and keep my prints sticking to the bed I decided it was time to tear it down and clean it up. To make a long story short, when all was said and done, it didn't help. I set it aside for a while to work on other projects and just went back to it. When I started working with it again I realized that the filament was jumping and that was what was causing what was causing what looked like a layer shift, it was pushing out the filament before it could melt and it was clumping up. I check the e-steps and found that they were at 400 (someone told me that was the default step setting) and it was too high, I recalibrated it and ended up setting it to 137, which gave me the correct flow of the filament.
Now to my problem. After all this, I logged back into Octopi and I saw the announcement for the latest update and I upgraded. I checked the level of the bed and started a cube calibration test. I watched the bed and the hot end heat up on Octopi, heard the print start up and walked away from the printer. I came back about an hour later and found a catastrophic failure, filament everywhere but sticking to the bed. Because I had left the bed clean I decided to put Elmer's purple glue on it, I had started using it some time ago in place of hair spray, restarted the print and walked away. When I came back about 30 minutes later I again had a catastrophic failure with no filament sticking to the bed.
This time, I let everything cool down, checked the bed level, and restarted the print, this time I stayed with the printer, watched it auto home before starting the print then the hot end raised up a bit and started to print above the bed.