Octoprint security settings

i have setup octopi on my raspberry yesterday and i used it over the browse from my windows 10 system.

when i access octoprint over the browser i need a login name and password.

today i bought an android app called PRINTOID (premium version).

i installed the app, put in the IP of the printer and i could access it.
now that´s not what i want. i want that octoprint always asks for a password.

you see i have not put any login infos into the profile:

what i am missing here?

please help. how can i make the connection secure.

why i am asked for a password in the browser but any android device i install PRINTOID on can control the printer without a password?

You login and then you generate a API key and add it to the app
Edit: You should use the Application Keys

sorry im a noob i don´t know what you mean.

Blockquote You login and then you generate a API key and add it to the app

i did that but that doesnt explain (at least not for me) why the android app is not asking me for a password.

does that mean the API key acts like a permit?
i find this a bit confusing. i thought the API key is just some identification (like a device ID)?

then why having the options for passwords in the PRINTOID app if that is not used?

i want octoprint always to ask me for a password before someone is able to control the printer.
when i connect to octoprint via chrome or firefox i get the login screen.

with the android app... no login screen. the app immediately lets everyone control the printer.

i thought linux is so secure. but this seems like a very unsecure default behavior.
that´s what i hear from my linux freak friend who always tells me to try linux. :slight_smile:
linux is always written with security in mind is what he constantly tells me. :slight_smile:

The OctoPrint API key is the authentication just like (or equivalent to) a username/password. I'm pretty sure you needed to give the API key to PRINTOID in order for it to work.