Octoprint server will not start after upgrade

What is the problem?

Octoprint server won't start after in-GUI upgrade (attempt). Server is running on raspbian by following the "installing manually" instructions.
./octoprint/bin/octoprint serve but ps -ef | grep 5000 no longer shows any output. Made a few dozen successful prints before attempting the upgrade.

What did you already try to solve it?

Trying to find the logging directory was tough... Can I make a PR on the wiki's documentation btw?
Searched for "octoprint logging" and found this page which doesn't mention the log path, but luckily I found a forum that mentioned it should be in .octoprint. I'm a linux engineer so I'm confused not to see at least a softlink in /var/log... or some documentation that describes its location.
Then, I find that no logs are generated when executing ./octoprint/bin/octoprint serve, by which I mean that none of the files are updated (ls -ltr .octoprint/logs/). So now I look for the logging configuration in an attempt to adjust the log level, and I find documentation around logging.yaml. However, I see the path should be .octoprint, but no such .octoprint/logging.yaml exists. config.yaml exists but does not mention a logging configuration file. I did not veer from the manual install instructions so I did not configure it to be stored somewhere else.

Have you tried running in safe mode?

• from command line run octoprint safemode (since OctoPrint 1.3.6)
    ^ tried this, still no 5000 listening

Complete Logs

octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab at a minimum, browser error console if UI issue ... no logs, no support! Not log excerpts, complete logs.)

I don't think I'd be writing this post if I could find the logs... but maybe I'm unique as a linux engineer trying to fix an application that feels strangely configured to me.

Additional information about your setup

OctoPrint version - ./octoprint/bin/octoprint --version returns nothing... it's pretty broken huh?