OctoPrint Service Fails to Start

What is the problem?
I've been printing successfully for a few months now, but this week I've run into an issue with the OctoPrint service failing to start. It is run using a Raspberry Pi 3 B+ and an OctoPi image (more details in the setup section below). Note all of this is done using ssh to access the Pi as it's headless.

What did you already try to solve it?
The first thing I attempted was simply applying software updates. I used

apt-get update && apt-get upgrade

to update everything. I ran into issues with the system update failing to complete. I tried running again but this time I started with

sudo apt-get update --fix-missing

and some additional updates were downloaded. These still failed to install. It looked like most of the updates were distribution updates, so I decided I'd try

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

and low and behold, everything updated successfully. I rebooted, ran an additional update and upgrade sequence to confirm nothing else came up (it didn't), and then tried to launch OctoPrint with the following.

oprint/bin/octoprint serve

I received numerous errors that seemed to be tied to plugins, so I decided to try launching it in safe mode.

oprint/bin/octoprint serve --safe

All the errors were identical. I copied the output to a file, and I've attached it along with the latest log file. I don't really know how to peruse the log file yet, so please forgive me if there's an easily spotted solution. It sounds like I have a problem with Python, but I'm not totally sure how to proceed. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
serve_start_error.log (13.2 KB)

Note since I'm a new user I can only include one attachment. I felt the errors I get at attempted service start might be more helpful. I'll post the log file as a reply if needed (and the forum lets me :grin:).

Additional information about your setup
Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ running OctoPi
OctoPrint version 1.3.9
OctoiPi version 0.15.1