Octoprint to grbl - not connecting

A newbie here building the DIYMachines.UK/ Sandtable. I have zero background knowledge, jumped right in. Here is what I have:

Raspberry PI 3A+ and Shield CNC 3V.
Octoprint with Plugin Better GRBL support. - all updates complete - Version 1.9.0

When I try to connect/ everything times out:
Here is the output from Terminal.

Changing monitoring state from "Offline" to "Opening serial connection"
Connecting to port /dev/ttyACM0, baudrate 115200
Changing monitoring state from "Opening serial connection" to "Connecting"
Connected to: Serial<id=0x707aea18, open=True>(port='/dev/ttyACM0', baudrate=115200, bytesize=8, parity='N', stopbits=1, timeout=10.0, xonxoff=False, rtscts=False, dsrdtr=False), starting monitor
Send: N0 M110 N0125
Recv:
Recv: Grbl 1.1h ['$' for help]
Recv: >G1X10F2000:ok
No answer from the printer within the connection timeout, trying another hello
Send: N0 M110 N0
Recv: error:20
There was a timeout while trying to connect to the printer
Changing monitoring state from "Connecting" to "Offline"
Connection closed, closing down monitor

I have started in safe mode.
One clue is that in the video instructions in the grbl settings was to remove "$$" under "Hello Command" - but... when I make it blank like the video and save, it resorts to the factory setting of "$$" - Could this be the issue?

Here is a link to octoprints system info.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1AE2DrAkWNT5gW-PkAwt6rUpzU-51pBzC?usp=sharing

You will probably get much better support on the sandtable forum: (1) Discord | #sand-art-table | DIY Machines

From the little info you included, it looks like the serial device returns info, but obviously not what octoprint expects to get back, so definitely a question that needs answers from the sand table forum, this is not something anyone here will be familiar with.

A generic serial/usb troubleshooting guide would include:

• Check that you have the right port connected, i.e /dev/ttyACM0